Sunday Funday- Beer Bread!

20130310-114145.jpg

When you get invited to a Pampered Chef/Tastefully Simple party, chances are you’re already planning on buying some of that ever so delicious beer bread. You’ll get a box to make immediately upon getting your order, another box to make for an upcoming party, a few boxes for gifts, and what the heck, a few boxes to have “on hand.” I’ve done it too, that stuff is delicious!

Believe it or not, you probably already have the 3 ingredients on hand to make it. Yes, only 3 ingredients. That’s it! So if you have these on hand, whip some up for your Sunday Funday. Yes, I know, football season is over. But who really needs an excuse for Beer Bread?

(Before all of my Paleo followers get too excited, no…this is NOT a Paleo recipe. Not even close. It’s one of the few recipes that just can’t be substituted. But if it can, let me know. I‘d love to try it!)

Ingredients:

3 cups self-rising flour (It’s important that it’s SELF-RISING. I used Pillsbury’s Best Self-Rising Flour)
4 TBSP sugar (or more if you like it sweet, but no more than ½ cup!)
12 oz beer
2-3 TBSP melted butter (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a bread pan (mine was 9 inches x 5 inches). Mix the flour and sugar together in a large mixing bowl. Add the beer and mix quickly (batter will be thick), put batter into pan and into oven immediately. It’s important to mix the beer in quickly and have it in the oven before the carbonation settles. Bake for 45-50 minutes. If you use melted butter, baste the top of the bread with the butter during the last 10 minutes of baking. When done, let cool for a few minutes, break it apart into big chunks, and serve with your favorite dip!

I used Blue Moon beer, only because it was the last bottle we had left in the fridge. (I sure hope my husband isn’t planning on drinking that when he gets home.) But really, any beer will do. I’ve used Miller Lite in the past and it tasted just as good. I’ve also used a pumpkin ale in the past and that was delicious!

Better yet, this recipe is so cheap to make. I have a huge bag of flour and sugar left over. I already had this on hand, but if I would have to guess, I would say I spent less than $5 for the ingredients (flour and sugar), and I have plenty left over. Compare that to the $6.00 a BOX (for only 1 loaf) that you will spend to purchase it. I’m no money saving expert, but I’d call this a score!

Now, you may be thinking… Can I make the mix myself and give it as a gift? You sure can!! Just mix the flour and sugar together and put it in a container. A mason jar would be super cute. You can add your own touch by making a personalized greeting and putting the directions on the jar. Add a ribbon. Heck, pair it with a bottle of beer. It will be much cheaper than the $6.00/box you spend ordering it though Pampered Chef/Tastefully Simple, it will be cuter in its own little mason jar, AND it will have your own personal touch. Perfect. Your friends will think you’re a genius!

Leave a comment