Homemade Granola and a Kid Friendly Snack

Josh has been into granola lately, and I came up with a pretty good homemade toasted coconut/almond granola that the whole family loves.

Ingredients:
½ cup brown sugar
4 cups oats (can use gluten free)
½ cup sliced almonds
¾ cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1/3 cup honey
¼ cup olive oil
½ tsp salt
Optional: dried fruit (I skip this part)

Method: Preheat oven to 300. Break up any lumps in your brown sugar. Mix brown sugar, oats, almonds and coconut. In a separate bowl, combine honey, oil and salt. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well. Spread evenly onto baking pans or baking sheets (I used two pans). Bake for 1 hour and stir every 15 minutes for even browning. If you find your granola is browning quickly, reduce temp to 250. Remove from oven and place in a separate bowl and allow it to cool. If you wish to add dried fruit, add it after it has cooled and store it in an air tight container.

20130820-125845.jpg

20130820-130001.jpg

If you are interested in a strictly Paleo granola, check out this recipe of Caveman Crunch granola that I’ve made in the past. It is also very yummy.

There are so many things you can add granola to. I even made some strawberry granola muffins. I just added things as I went, so I don’t have an exact recipe, but if I make them again, I’ll be sure to jot down what I used. They were pretty good and were great for breakfast, paired with some hard boiled eggs.

The kids particularly love these “peanut butter”, banana, granola bites. It’s easy. Slice bananas, put peanut butter (we use sun butter or almond butter, too) between two banana slices to form a “sandwich,” and roll it in granola. Instant yumminess!

20130820-130050.jpg

20130820-130129.jpg

Give it a try, I’m sure your kiddo’s will love it.

Leave a Reply

