Muffin Madness and Baker’s Anxiety

Since I got tons of prep done on Sunday, I knew I wouldn’t need to use my oven that much this week. I planned on pressing that ever-so-magical “Self-Clean” button this morning, knowing that it takes almost 5 hours to self-clean. I don’t know if I had baker’s anxiety or something over not having use of my oven, but I couldn’t get back to sleep this morning thinking of all the possibilities I could whip up before I decided to press that magical button.

Luckily, I had already gotten my 8 hours of beauty sleep, and everyone in the house was still sound asleep. I rolled out of bed at about 7:30am and had time to whip all this up before everyone else got up around 9am. Well, with the exception of still having a few batches to pop in the oven, but I blame that on only having one muffin tin. Yea, I need some more (hint, hint!).
20130326-130648.jpg

There you see it… many different types of muffins! Do I really need this many muffins? Well, no. But it’s that baker’s anxiety, I tell ya! It’s a good thing I can easily freeze some, and they are PERFECT for quick snacks for the kids.

So what’s pictured? Well, we have Coconut Chocolate Chip Gluten Free Muffins, Apple Cinnamon Oat Gluten Free Muffins, Blueberry Oat Gluten Free Muffins, Egg Muffins, Oatmeal Muffins, and Paleo Pumpkin Muffins.

And here’s some recipes-

Gluten Free Oat Muffins (Coconut Chocolate Chip, Apple Cinnamon, Blueberry)

I love playing around with recipes like this. The possibilities are endless with the flavors you can throw together. It’s one simple gluten and dairy free base recipe with a little variety added to it.

Ingredients:

3 Cups of Gluten Free Oats (Any oat works fine if you don’t care about gluten free. Bob’s Red Mill makes three different varieties of gluten free oats)
¼ cup Flaxseed
1 cup coconut milk (almond, soy or regular milk work fine too)
2 eggs
2 ripe bananas
1TBSP Baking Powder
1TBSP Cinnamon
1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Method: Preheat oven to 375. Mash bananas with a masher or fork. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir. From here, add any additional topping you’d like.
20130326-130717.jpg

I divided my batter up into 3 bowls and made three different muffins. One is ½ chopped apple with a little extra cinnamon, the other is ½ cup of blueberries, and the third one is some shredded unsweetened coconut, Enjoy Life mini chocolate chips, and about 1TBSP unsweetened cocoa powder.

Egg Muffins-

20130326-130804.jpg

View this super simple recipe here.

By the way, these look terrible in pictures. Immediately upon taking them out of the oven they are fluffy and full of volume. But as they cool they shrink and get all wrinkly. They don’t look good, but they sure taste good.

Oatmeal Muffins-

20130326-130755.jpg

This one isn’t a gluten free one. I had doctored it tremendously, so I wasn’t ready to give it a whirl using almond or coconut flour yet so I stuck with whole wheat. I’ll let you know if I get this one any closer to gluten free or Paleo.

Ingredients:
1 cup Oats
1 cup almond milk (any milk works fine)
1 egg
¼ cup olive oil (vegetable or canola oil work fine)
1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
¼ cup Ground Flaxseed
¼ cup Coconut Sugar (regular white sugar works fine)
½ tsp seasalt
2 tsp baking powder

Method: Preheat oven to 400. Soak your oats in milk for about 20 minutes. Once soaked, stir in the flaxseed, egg and oil. In a separate bowl, mix together all other ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix. Place batter into greased muffin tin (or use muffin liners). Each muffin cup should be about 2/3 full with batter. Bake for about 20-25 minutes. Makes about 1 dozen muffins.

Paleo Pumpkin Muffins-

20130326-130824.jpg

This is one of my favorite muffin recipes, and I don’t even like pumpkin. Check it out here. (I omit the sliced almonds, and highly recommend using the optional honey.)

So, there you have it. A little bit of Muffin Madness for your Tuesday. My house is currently quiet as all kids are napping, and I’m enjoying a nice cup of (barely warm) coffee, blogging, and passing the time while my oven is self-cleaning.

Leave a Reply

