Paleo Meatloaf Cupcakes topped with Cauliflower Mashed “Potato” Frosting

20130305-130720.jpg

Delicious. That’s what my husband said. No, really…it’s true. He even wrote it on Facebook. Ha. Anyway, considering I used my own Paleo Friendly recipe, I’d say they turned out really yummy. I’m not too good at presentation yet, I need to get some tips off of some of my friends like Natalie. Check her out, she has her own blog filled with delicious (normal, aka. Non Paleo) recipes. She knows how to present her food creatively on a plate and take great pictures of them. Me, not so much. But hey, at least you get a picture!

Ingredients for Paleo-style Meatloaf Cupcakes:
1 ½ lbs lean ground beef (you can use fattier beef, but it tends to accumulate a lot of grease around/under each muffin. You can always drain them as you bake if you use a fattier ground beef)
1 medium onion, chopped
2 egg whites
¼ cup BBQ sauce (you can make your own Paleo version)
¼ cup grated cauliflower

Method:
Preheat oven to 350. Mix all ingredients and place in muffin tin. (Mine made 9 cupcakes). Bake for about 20-25 minutes, or until done. Once they are finished baking, top with cauliflower mashed “potatoes,” and serve!

Cauliflower Mashed “Potatoes”

I didn’t use measurements here. Just go by your liking, and feel free to add other spices that you like!
I steamed one head of cauliflower, and placed it in a blender with some almond milk, soy and dairy free butter, pepper, sea salt and garlic. You can also use a hand mixer or probably even a potato masher. Mine turned out a bit runnier than I anticipated. I definitely over-steamed the cauliflower, which made it really soft. I possibly added a bit too much almond milk. Still tasted good, but wasn’t as thick as I would have liked. My mother in law (yes, I got her on the Paleo kick) said she just made really good cauliflower mashed potatoes. She’s coming up next weekend and is going to make some. I’ll post a follow up if they are different than mine.

So there you have it. Yummy Paleo Meatloaf Cupcakes topped with Cauliflower Mashed “Potatoes.”
If you’re not all Paleo-fied, feel free to give it more of a home style flavor by using breadcrumbs instead of grated cauliflower for the meatloaf cupcakes, as well as use your favorite thick barbeque sauce. And top those babies with some thick, milky, buttery, REAL mashed potatoes. I’m sure it will be extra yummy that way. Plus, well, they just look cute!

2 thoughts on “Paleo Meatloaf Cupcakes topped with Cauliflower Mashed “Potato” Frosting

  1. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan, including freezer meals that are Paleo/Primal Friendly and Gluten Free | Kristy, Exposed!

Leave a Reply

