This Weeks Meal Plan, Recipe’s, and More

As promised, here is a meal plan of what I (and the family) am eating this week. I am putting down mainly what I’m eating, but the rest of the family (boys and all) eat very similar but will have some other items added to their meals, such as fruit, and limited grains. I’ll try to add that in as I go through. If you are currently eating Paleo, I’m sure you know that it’s not too hard to get your family to do the same as long as you are creative with recipes. If the rest of your family is not Paleo, it’s easy to at least have them eat the main dish, and switch out sides if necessary.

And because I have some extra time, I will also add in links to recipes I used for this week.
Let’s start out here. This is what part of my kitchen looks like in the midst of getting the entire week’s meals prepped at once.

20130219-144635.jpg

You will see a few freezer meals that I will pop in the crock pot, as well as some dishes that I will refrigerate and bake when it’s time. I have actually cooked things ahead of time in the past and refrigerated or froze them until it was time to eat, but I prefer eating my foods fresh, right out of the oven (or crock pot). But I will still actually cook some meals ahead of time if I know it’s going to be a hectic week.

The freezer/crock pot meals are the easiest. Simply add all the ingredients to a ziplock freezer bag and either freeze or refrigerate. I always label on the outside of the bag what it is, cooking time, and if I need to add anything extra to it. I always have a few spare ones in my fridge just in case. You can always put frozen stuff in the crock pot, or defrost it overnight in the refrigerator. Tastes great either way!

I’ll admit, it’s messy and time consuming, but it sure makes up for making meals from scratch each day, and definitely saves time over the course of the week. It takes some planning, especially when you are starting out. But I have our whole weeks meals prepped in under 2 hours. Now, don’t expect to jump into it your first time and have everything done that quickly. I’m not going to lie to you, when I first started prepping meals for the week, it took me A LOT of time. But I’ve learned how to multi-task in the kitchen, and how to put things together much quicker as I got more experience with it.

Monday:
Breakfast- 2 eggs and 1 egg white, 4pc turkey bacon
Lunch- 2 slices of sweet potato pizza (this mess calls for its own blog post)
Dinner- Stuffed Peppers (I used ground beef intead of sausage, but either is good. Even ground turkey tastes good)
Tuesday:
Breakfast- Chicken and Apple Hash
Lunch- Chicken Salad over Spinach
Dinner- Balsamic Chicken and Broccoli
Wednesday:
Breakfast- 2 eggs and 1 egg white, 2 turkey sausage patties
Lunch- Leftover Balsamic Chicken and Broccoli
Dinner- Meatloaf, sweet potato fries, broccoli (I make a BBQ meatloaf. I sort of just made this one up… 1 lb ground beef, 1 small chopped onion, 1/4 cup grated cauliflower, 2 egg whites, 1/4 cup BBQ sauce, dash of pepper. Mix all together and form into a loaf. Place in a baking dish [top with a little extra BBQ sauce if you wish] and bake at 375 for about 25-30 min or until done. You can use any kind of BBQ sauce, but here is a recipe for Paleo BBQ sauce.)
Thursday:
Breakfast- Coconut fried Tilapia (everyone else will have eggs, fruit and turkey sausage)
Lunch- 1 cup chicken salad and ¼ cup walnuts
Dinner- Pineapple Chicken and broccoli (I will add quiona to the kids meals and to Josh’s if he wants it)
Friday:
Breakfast- Peach/Pecan Scramble
Lunch- Leftover Pineapple Chicken
Dinner- Salmon, Broccoli, and maybe Paleo Biscuits (baked sweet potato for Josh and the kids). I haven’t decided which variation of spices I will use for Salmon yet. I have a lot of delicious Salmon recipes pinned on Pinterest if you would like to check them out.
Saturday:
Brunch- chicken salad, hardboiled eggs, fresh fruit salad
Dinner- Breaded Coconut Fried Chicken, sweet potato fries, broccoli
Sunday:
Brunch- Eggs, leftover coconut fried chicken, fresh fruit salad
Dinner- Steamed Shrimp, sweet potato fries, broccoli

As you can see, we eat a lot of chicken. It’s our go-to meat of choice. Josh doesn’t eat pork, so I rarely make it. Also, you will see A LOT of broccoli in this week’s meal plan. That is not a norm, but I couldn’t find many veggies this time at the grocery store that I wanted, so I just stuck with broccoli.

It’s also worth mentioning that I don’t prepare my sides ahead of time. I really don’t add anything to my veggies anyway, so I just steam them when it’s time to eat. It doesn’t take long. They also make steamer bags of veggies that you just pop in the microwave to save you from having an extra steamer basket, pot to clean. I am a big fan of roasting veggies though, and will do that on occasion with a few spices and olive oil.

I didn’t list snacks in here, but yes I (we) eat them. Depending on when I work out, I will have a protein shake immediately following my workout, which just consists of 1 ½ scoops of protein and water. I also have another snack throughout the day, usually consisting of hard boiled eggs, ¼ cup of raw nuts, tuna, or a trail mix I make where I mix together the following ingredients: Slices almonds, raisens, vegan chocolate chips, sunflower seeds, and unsweetened coconut flakes. That is my favorite combination, but you can really use any combo of nuts/seeds. Fresh fruit is also a great snack choice, but I always recommend eating it with some other source of protein.

I hope this post was beneficial to you if you are interested in exploring the world of Paleo, or if you just want to save time by planning and putting together your meals ahead of time. All of my meal programming is done by me. I hope to have a 30 day freezer menu plan to share on here or on Pinterest in the future, but until then, I’ll try to post some weekly ones to give you fresh ideas.

Afterthought- As I re-read through this week’s menu, it is pretty boring. I’m sorry! I promise to make the next one a little more exciting with some more variety. I have a lot of other delicious recipes to share, and next time I decide to post a weekly meal plan, I’ll make it a bit more interesting. But remember, eating isn’t for enjoyment. It’s to fuel your body properly. Feed it well and it will treat you well. Feed it poorly and you will feel the effects of it. Exhaustion, depression, anxiety, poor immunity, and a laundry list of diseases/illnesses can be a direct result of what you eat. Take it from me, I have infant twins and a toddler. I feel great and am never exhausted. I drink limited caffeine and the only supplements I take are a multivitamin and fish oil. Eating great will not only transform your body into one you love, but it will also (and more importantly) make you feel better and have energy to tackle every day life.

One thought on “This Weeks Meal Plan, Recipe’s, and More

Leave a Reply

