Homemade Laundry Detergent

One thing I started doing after having children is making a lot of my own cleaning supplies. I figured the less chemicals I expose my family to, the better. So what easier way to start, than to make my own cleaning supplies.

When Aerie was born, she had very sensitive skin, which resulted in a pretty bad case of eczema for quite a few months. Luckily she grew out of it, but as a result, I started buying fragrance and dye free laundry detergent.

After the explosion of Pinterest (you can follow me on Pinterest here), I found a lot more resources on how to make a lot of chemical free cleaners. A fellow mother of multiples made some of her own liquid laundry detergent, and she liked how it turned out. Plus, it saved a lot of money.

Originally, I made the powdered laundry detergent, but I wasn’t too crazy about it. So I decided to try the liquid detergent. I love it! There are only three ingredients, it makes a ton, costs very little, and best of all, its hypoallergenic!

Give it a try, here’s the directions!

There has been some discrepancy on how much to use. I use anywhere between 1/4-1/2 cup depending on load size and how dirty the clothes are.

Simple, safe, and cost effective. 🙂

One thought on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. Pingback: Homemade Laundry Detergent (Revised) | Kristy, Exposed!

Leave a Reply

