Crafts- Say What?!!

Everyone who knows me knows I hate doing crafts. The girls in Dental Hygiene used to laugh how terrible my alginates and clay models were. It’s not that I can’t do them. I just hate stuff like that. I don’t have the patience to sit and work on things like that when I have no interest in doing it.

I found that as much time as I spend developing a strong learning foundation with Aeriella, I was shying away from “craft” time. She would color here and there, but no painting or other crafts. I realize how important this is for fine motor skills, and many other developmental milestones. So, I bit the bullet and joined Pinterest. As a result, I am a creative, craft making machine! Well, not really. But seeing different ideas on there has really caused me to expand my horizons and come up with my own crafty ideas. I even used an idea to finalize Aerie’s colors. Yay.

Josh’s Mom and my Grandma decided to come up last weekend. I thought I would use this as an opportunity to make “Grandma Gifts” for them. I got this idea off Pinterest. I painted the kids feet and made butterflies on canvas. It was really cute. They loved them. I really wish I would have taken a picture of them before I gave them away, but I can make more. Go me, my first “craft” as an adult! Ha!

Anyway, now I am looking for new ideas on Pinterest for stuff to do around the house. Josh is going to hate me, especially because some of it involves him making things, and he’s not the most “handiest of handymen.” He usually just hires someone else to do it. But he has done some great stuff around the house, so maybe he’ll do it 🙂

One thought on “Crafts- Say What?!!

  1. Oh I wish I lived closer…I love crafts!! I would have so much fun making art with Aerie! Just give her the supplies and let her go to town…that’s the beauty of art…just seeing what flows from their hearts and minds:)

Leave a Reply

