CrossFit Tune Up Graduation

Six weeks ago (a week after I got cleared from my doctor to start “light cardio”), I began our Tune Up course at CrossFit Shadyside. I figured it would be a good way to ease back in to working out, and to force myself to focus on the basics and rebuild a good, solid foundation. I haven’t CrossFitted since 2009 because I have pretty much been pregnant ever since.

On the first day of the Tune Up, we did the following workout:

15 minute AMRAP of: 20 mountain climbers, 20 pushups, 20 air squats, 10 burpees.

We revisited this exact same workout on the last day of the Tune Up to see how much we had improved in those six weeks.

On the first day I got 4 rounds and 6 air squats. On the last day I got 7 rounds and 12 air squats. I’d say that’s a great improvement.

We also did a CrossFit total on Tuesday. The CrossFit total is said to reflect on an athlete’s functional strength capacity more accurately than any other test. Basically, your total is the sum of 3 lifts: Back Squat, Deadlift, and Strict Press. Ideally, you are trying to find your one rep max of each of these lifts.

I got- Back Squat-155lbs, Deadlift-185lbs, Strict Press-85lbs. CrossFit Total=425

I probably could have done a little more on the back squat, but since that was our first lift, I felt like I was taking forever with it and just wanted to move on. The Deadlift and Strict Press were definitely my max (for now!)

I’m a little bummed because I used to be able to dead lift 250lbs easily. Unfortunately now, especially not too long after having the twins, I absolutely can not do the hip thrust to really finish the movement. I hope it comes in time.

Leave a Reply

