On my own

Josh’s mom and my grandma have been in town for the past week helping us with the twins. They just left and now I’m wondering just how I am going to do this on my own.

I feel like everyone I meet or encounter (other than my family and friends) wants me to be a failure. Everyone I meet says “Do you have help? There’s no way you can do it on your own.” They also add the low blows in there like “You’ll never get back into shape after having twins.” Really. Is that necessary? How about just looking at me and saying, “Wow, you are blessed and you are going to be great.” Josh says it’s their own insecurities talking, and just because they couldn’t do it, or had a hard time doing it, they are projecting that on me. He is right, but it just hits home when people imply that I am not capable of taking care of my children.

I really feel like I’m going to be fine. I’m the worlds best multi-tasker. I feel like I’m pretty patient. And I’ve been through this before, so I sort of know what to expect. This time, I just have 2 newborns instead of 1.

Call me crazy, but I’m really looking forward to this experience. I just love these little guys. They are amazing and Aeriella is such a sweet big sister. Josh even said to me (which is secretly my most favorite compliment he’s ever given me) “Aerie’s so sweet because you are.” I thought that was adorable and it made my heart smile 🙂 But it also reminds me of a gift that was given to us by the MacReady family. It is a rock, and on it says “What our children see in the world depends on what we show them.” That saying is so true. It’s my inspiration every day to be the best I can be and show my kids how to do the same.

Leave a Reply

